Live to Eat? Or Eat to Live?

Standard

 

I have always gone about life with the Live to Eat attitude. I love food. And lots of it. You know how they say to eat several small meals a day? Well, I prefer several large meals a day. No, not meals. Just a lot of stuff, a lot of times, all day. 

But a few weeks ago I decided enough was enough. My pants kept getting smaller and my chins kept doubling so I decided it was time to figure out how to eat healthy.

My awesome brother in law started a plan that has made him so much healthier. I wanted to do that too, so I created my own version of it.

I figured out how many calories I needed every day and how many calories are in the foods I should be eating and how often I should be eating. I wrote down my food options so I wasn’t just guessing every time I opened the fridge. I started using the My Fitness Pal app to log what I ate. Logging what goes in my mouth is very important. If I don’t log it then I can’t gauge how many calories have gone in and I end up eating more.

The first two days were hard, and I was way hungry. But then it just kept getting easier. Now I only eat when my body needs it… Unless it is one of the two times during the month when I just need to eat and eat and cry and yell and eat. (I thought that would go away after my hysterectomy, so I was quite disappointed when it didn’t.)

Here is an example of one of my days:

8am- Cream of Wheat with sugar, cinnamon and milk.

10am- 1 boiled egg with salt. Lots of salt.

12pm- Salad. Lettuce, spinach, grapes, strawberries, grilled chicken, almonds, whatever.

2pm- Greek yogurt with grape-nuts (did you know Grape-Nuts have 200 calories per serving!? A little ridiculous if you ask me), Cheerios, or my favorite method is using saltine crackers as the spoon.

4pm- A Kind brand honey oatmeal bar. And maybe a cookie. 

6pm- Dinner. Whatever it is.

8pm- A can of tuna fish with lots of salt, saltine crackers and pickles. Yes, I love salt.

Exercising is also helpful. I have an iFit band that tells me how many steps I have taken and how many calories in and out. I go to the gym three days a week and I burn calories at home cleaning and things, but eating differently is the key. Also water. I drink lots of water.

It is so much better knowing that my body only needs a small amount of food every few hours to work. I am eating to live instead of going through life like an all-you-can-eat buffet. I am just fueling the machine. It is wonderful! My clothes are fitting better and I have more energy because I’m not eating as much junk. 

I definitely recommend watching what you put into your body and see if it makes you feel different. My guess is that it will!

Leave a Reply

