Irrigating Day

Standard

Once a week we get our turn with the irrigation water. The horses love it, the boys love it, I love it!!

The boys get their swim shorts on and I take off my shoes for a couple hours of fun and relaxing.

image

Here we are playing and having a grand ol’ time.

image

And then…

image
(This picture was taken after the whole thing had calmed down)

The water busted through the dam and was rushing out of the pasture. I had surgery 4 weeks before and wasn’t supposed to do anything strenuous. Well… The water was pumping out of the ditch like a fire hydrant and I didn’t know how to turn it off. I ran to get the 4 cinder blocks that were in the arena, I rolled the drum over and then started shoveling like mad (I still didn’t have shoes on… Ouch) to build up the dam. Thank heavens for my dear, sweet, amazing father in law. He saw the fiasco and came to help. He closed up the ditch and came to my shoveling aid. He got the dam fixed before we lost all the water in the pasture. Ugh… Stress.

image

And this is how we all looked when we were done. Except that I had a 6 inch rip in the back of my shorts. No picture necessary.

image

After we got all cleaned up I promptly called my doctor for a check-up. I was hurting and was sure I undid all the surgery I was trying to recover from.

Fast forward to the doctors appointment…

As the doctor was walking into the room he said “cinder blocks and irrigating huh? You know you aren’t supposed to be doing that kind of stuff yet, right?”

Ok yes, I do know. But what was I supposed to do? My 4 and 8 year old boys couldn’t fix it. I had to do something. I didn’t see that I had any other choice.

He said everything looks great but he won’t be able to check fully until my 6 week appointment.

We skipped our next water turn.

Leave a Reply

