Obedience and Ice Cream

Standard

The January 2015 LDS Ensign Magazine  Visiting Teaching message says this (I added the bold to prove my point):

“As we walk in obedience to the principles and commandments of the gospel of Jesus Christ,” said Elder D. Todd Christofferson of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, “we enjoy a continual flow of blessings promised by God in His covenant with us. Those blessings provide the resources we need to act rather than simply be acted upon as we go through life. … Obedience gives us greater control over our lives, greater capacity to come and go, to work and create.” 

As I thought about this, I related it to my kids. When they are being obedient and living good lives, I love to reward them with toys or ice cream or movie night. If they are being naughty and disobedient, of course I’m going to withhold those extra things. I will still love them and give them food and hugs and the things they need, but I won’t give them extra “blessings”. 

Maybe God sees it the same way? When we are being obedient to his law, he will give us the extra blessings and greater control and capacity to do good. When we aren’t being obedient, he still loves us and blesses us, but not as much as he would like to. 

Of course he hasn’t sat down and told me if that’s how he works, but I like to think that’s how it goes.
image

Leave a Reply

